Annual Image of the Year Competition

Article text
From Left to Right, Tony Wilson, Ken Redshaw, Bob Normand, Brian Galbraith (Judge) and Roger Smart
The Dawlish and Teignmouth Camera Club held its annual award evening for members’ pictures of the year. The club was extremely fortunate to secure the services of Brian Galbraith, a highly experienced judge and past President of the Western Counties Photographic Federation, which represents over 100 camera clubs in the region.

The photographs were divided into three sections: Colour Prints, Mono Prints and Digitally Projected. Members who submitted pictures had the benefit of a perceptive, constructive critique which was almost like a master class in the standards to aim for in competitions.

In the Colour Prints category, Terry Boulton was awarded 1st place, Shirley Boulton, 2nd, Ken Redshaw, 3rd and Ken Holland was Highly Commended.

Mono Prints awards were given to Ken Redshaw, 1st, Tony Wilson, 2nd, Roger Smart, 3rd with Ken Holland being Highly Commended.

The Digital Image of the year was awarded to Tony Wilson, with Bob Normand gaining 2nd place, Terry Boulton, 3rd and Kevin Ashford and Ken Holland were both Highly Commended.

Club Secretary, Nigel West, thanked the judge for his perceptive and often entertaining comments. Meetings of the club continue for another two weeks before a break for the summer.